Nansen Scientific Society

Tentative SCHEDULE Subject to change updates

Tuesday 10        Wednesday 11        Thursday 12 
Tuesday 10lenary

​8:00-9:00 Registration

​9:00-09:15 Welcome and introduction

09:15-09:45  Keynote  Ocean Circulation and Climate: Prof Sabrina Speich (ENS, France) and Prof Martin 

                         Visbeck (Geomar, Germany)

09:45-10:15  Keynote  The Ocean Observation Physics and Climate panel  Bernadette Sloyan (CSIRO, Australia)

10:15-10:45  Invited Agulhas Current, recent advances by Dr Marjolaine Krug (DEFF, South Africa)

​10:45-11:15 Coffee break

11:15-11:45 Invited Benguela Current, recent advances  by  Dr Jenny Veitch (SAEON, South Africa).

11:45-12:15 Invited The South Madagascar Upwelling  by Dr Juliano Dany  Ramanantsoa (Madagascar, NTC)

12:15-13:30 Lunch break


13:30-14:00  Plankton variability around southern Africa  by Dr Tarron Lamont (DEFF, South Africa)

14:00-1430  Keynote   Operational Oceanography. Dr Pierre Bahurel (Mercator, France)

14:30-1530  Session 1 Ocean, weather and climate, science to the service of society. Convenor: Prof Johnny

                                        Johannessen (NERSC, Norway) and Dr Bjorn Backeberg (NTC, South Africa)

15:30-16:00 Coffee Break


16:00-17:00  Session 1 (continued)

17:00-17:30 Discussion/round table on Operational Oceanography in Southern Africa: the way forward.

18:00-19:30 Ice Breaker , Welcome drinks


08:30-9:00 Coffee

​​08:30-09:00 Keynote The United Nations Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development  

                         (2021-2030) by Prof Peter Haugen (IMR, Norway)


09:00-09:30 Scientific Highlights of the Nansen Tutu Center by Bjorn Backeberg and Mathieu Rouault

09:30-10:30 Session 2: Regional Oceanography: Angola Benguela Agulhas Current system and sources

                         region: Tropical Atlantic, Mozambique Channel and Madagascar Currents

                         Convenors : Prof Juliet Hermes (SAEON, South Africa), Prof Joke Lübbecke (Geomar, 

                         Germany), Dr Pierrick Penven (IRD, France)

10:30-11:00 Coffee break

11:00-12:30 Session 2 (continued)

12:30-13:30 Lunch

13:30-14:45  ATLANTOS and related international programs: round table and presentations. Animated by

                        Prof Martin Visbeck (Geomar, Germany)

14:45-15:30 Session 3 Marine ecosystem and carbon cycle: change, variability and management

                                       Convenors: Dr Annette Samuelsen (IMR, Norway),  Prof Peter Hagen, IMR, Norway, Dr

                                       Tarron Lamont (DEFF, South Africa)

15:30-16:00 Coffee Break

16:00-17:00 Session 3 (continued)

17:00-18:00 Poster session

19:30 Conference Banquet


08:30-09:00 Coffee


08:30-09:00 Keynote Ocean Atmosphere Interaction by Prof Noel Keenlyside (UiB, Norway) and Dr Arielle Stela

                                            Imbol  Njouado (GEOMAR, Cameroon)

09:00-09:30 Keynote  Benguela Nino by Prof Joke Lübbecke (GEOMAR, Germany) and Dr Rodrigue Anicet Imbol

                                           Koungue  (GEOMAR, Cameroon)

09:30-10:30 Session 4:  Climate variability, weather phenomenon and ocean atmosphere interactions .

                                            Convenors: Prof Babadunde Abiodun (UCT, South Africa), Prof Mathieu Rouault (NTC,

                                            South Africa South Africa,  Prof Nils Gunnar Kvamstø (UiB, Norway).

10:30-11:00 Coffee break

11:00-12:15 Session 4 (continued)

12:15-1230 Group photo

12:30-13:30 Lunch

13:30-15:30 Session 5 Southern Ocean, Prince Edwards Islands and Antarctic

                                        Convenor: Prof Isabelle Ansorge (UCT, South Africa)

15:30-16:00 Coffee Break

16:00-16:30 Prize giving and final address

1630: 1730 Round table on the way forward.